Charcuterie-Smoked Canadian Bacon

Breakfast on the farm

Back Bacon Eh?

Kidding.. sort of, as a canadian, I was pleased to be making this, as a lover of all things smoked, I loved this project, I bought a whole 14 pds loin and cut it up to make four good size roasts, and then smoked with hot smoke but wet wood.. turned out heavenly, and we will be eating it for some time to come, however I got knocked down with a nasty flu and so only had got the one meal made by deadline time, which just happened to be fresh farm eggs, a mix of turkey, duck and chicken, with fresh stinging nettle and dandelion greens out of the garden, with homemade fresh baking powder biscuit, a match made in heaven to go with that sweet(cooked in maple sap water) smoky flavor.

This entry was posted in Charcuterie. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Charcuterie-Smoked Canadian Bacon

  1. ma says:

    Peameal bacon has always been my first choice and was easily obtainable in Ontario where I (DH’s ma) grew up. Then DH and family moved to Alberta. I remember the first time I went to a butcher shop in St. Albert and asked the butcher for peameal bacon. He said “you mean that stuff you people from Ontario throw on the floor and roll in the sawdust?” I said “yup, that’s the stuff”. So I got my peameal bacon and still love it.

    • huh, do you mean cornmeal? Rolled in Cornmeal? cuz no one does it sawdust that I know of..

      Of course, I don’t roll mine anything to be honest, I don’t like the cornmeal that some do, but I am glad you like it and next time you visit, I will have made some up in advance so you can have the homemade kind, personally, It just a different cut of ham to me but I do like fried up with a egg in a fresh homemade bun with some mustard mayo..

  2. MrBelm says:

    Looks tasty. Now that I’ve done the eggs benedict thing, a lot of the extra back bacon will be chopped up for omelets and scrambled eggs.

Leave a comment