Cheese and Onion Pie Recipe

Miss L and I made 15 of these lovely’s for the coming SCA lunch menu in May and we had some leftover pie dough which we shared, so I got home and made one for our supper, so this was a butter pie dough crust, two large onions peeled and sliced and then pop out the rings, 1 cup of grated cheese, some salt and pepper, 2 beated eggs, and because I had it and wanted a heavier supper meal, I added maybe 1/2 of cubed baked ham to it, but its not required.. Bake until golden, its good hot and its good cold, served it with a side bed of spring greens and it was just perfect!!

This entry was posted in Food Production and Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Cheese and Onion Pie Recipe

  1. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Omg, that looks SO good and I just baked a ham last night (so guess what we’re having for dinner; ) Thanks!

  2. Kodi says:

    Hey, farm girl, do you get your butter by separating your goat milk?

  3. grammomsblog says:

    MMMMMM looks delicious! And I can just imagine it with spinach too. Oh, my mouth is watering!

  4. Carole Gautreau says:

    Sounds delicious, could you post the recipe for the butter crust?

  5. Lake Lili says:

    Hmmm… I don’t remember SCA meetings as getting food that good… might have to look at rejoining if thats the fare! side note – if you still want to talk genealogy, give me a shout

  6. calliek says:

    You read my mind! When you posted about makng these the other day I was thinking of asking you to post the recipe but hadn’t done it yet. I have seom lovely ham and cheese just waiting for this and I think I’ll add some rapini!

    And if there’s genealogy talks going on, I’m in too!

    • Hi Callie

      Glad it worked out that way but if I ever talk about something and then forget to write it up or talk about it, just poke me, the odds are its one of three things, I have not got to that point in the year that I think applies (example, I still intend to talk about using the different garden products but want to do at the right time when I can “show” how its being used and the results etc). two, I am so busy, that its on the list but I’m not getting there, and if I know folks are interested in that, it can get bumped! on the to write list :) or three, I plain forgot about it and somehow it didn’t get on the list that I keep on possable subjects to write about.. Enjoy, I think that the rapini would work very well, I was thinking of you on saturday when I found at that ottawa has a share a tree program, which while it needs more research appears to be a program like the one you talk about, where you pick the fruit tree’s and then share what is picked etc.

      Wow, let me tell you I like history and genealogy but when it comes to Lake Lili, sit back and listen, she is amazing!!

  7. Julia Swancy says:

    yum!! I really must refine a gluten-free cornmeal crust for such purposes ;)

  8. calliek says:

    Then I would love to connect with Lake Lili! (I even have a genealogy blog but it’s a work in progress- http://therisingvillage.blogspot.ca/)

Leave a Reply

