Lets talk Rhubarb..

2013-01-01 2197 (600x450)

So its that time of year, time to not just be eating fresh rhubarb in a number of ways but time to start preserving it for the rest of the year eating..

I had 14 plants that are in full harvest mode and I have a goodly number of more that are growing and the goal is a total of 40 plants on the farm.

Today, I took the time to do weights, now I harvested the big ones and left about 50 percent or so by doing it this way, I get one bigger spring harvest but I can do two or more lighter harvests thoughout the rest of the year while still allowing the plant to put away enough to come back next year even stronger..

2013-01-01 2198 (600x450)

It would appear that I am getting between eight to ten pounds per plant, so this year,  I am right on track for harvesting right around my 180 to 200 pounds of rhubarb, the goal is to get to the point of being able to harvest on average 400 pounds per year.

2013-01-01 2199 (600x450)

I like rhubarb relish, and I adore strawberry rhubarb pie but my biggest use for it is canned rhubarb

2013-01-01 2201 (600x450)

 

 

This entry was posted in Life moves on daily. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lets talk Rhubarb..

  1. Sheri says:

    OMG!!!! I have never grown that much Rhubarb! I did grow and donate enough for a wedding once. I only have 6 plants. I split and shared with several neighbor’s. Then they all got transplanted to a new spot. This year was the first I could harvest from them. I tried something different after I read your pineapple post. I did Rhubarb/Pineapple. Added some brown sugar to the batch to make it come off like a Pineapple Upside Down Cake. I love cake but my husband doesn’t. I cooked the diced Pineapple first on the lowest setting with lid on to pull out juices. After it cooked down a bit I added the diced Rhubarb. After getting thick I added the Brown Sugar. I used 2 Pineapples and equal amounts of Rhubarb. About a half a box of Brown Sugar and a bit of white sugar. (I use no water). Cooked until it started to set a bit on the plate and I licked this to make sure it was sweet enough! After canning (7 half pints) I had some left over and put it in the refrigerator to set. It turned out wonderful and I’m thinking about doing another batch for Christmas gifts.

    • Oh, that sounds so good.. now here is a little challenge for you.. make the same rhubarb-pineapple, brown sugar but add in some vingar and cloves or all spice and cook it down at a slow simmer to be used as a side dish to be served with chicken or other white meat.. YUM!

  2. Sheri says:

    Yum! That does sound good! Bet that would go good with ham.

  3. wow, In my yard here in the city I have 2 plants only…I a always amazed at how much you produce on your farm! Out yard now has 24 fruits, plus our garden, herb garden, perennial vegetable , medicinal herbs/flowers/plants…there is only so much we can do here but I am more than pleased and my hubby says the only place here with ore food in the yard is the Hort. Centre…lol

Leave a Reply

