Doing the snoopy dance! – Girl didn’t cycle this month!

I’m so excited, I’m so excited!! LOL

Well, Girl was cycling perfectly, then she got breed, and this month, nothing.. I have been checking her daily and nothing, Marty agree’s with me.. no heat this month.. which means that the odds are very good that she took!

I will need to do one more month to be sure and then I will have to decide if I will break down and have the vet come out and do a ultrsound to confirm the month afterwards but I think I will do my best to buck up and just trust in nature :)

Now I need to plan and prepare for a winter pregancy for her, and that means making sure she gets the very best that I can give in terms of hay, feed and fresh extra’s, I would normally be looking at putting away into the cellar a number of extra big bags of fall apples but that is so not going to happen this year, root veggies are not doing that well this year.. and even my squash, while producing, are not anywhere near where they should be.. sigh.. I might have to break down and buy green cover seed and just do sprout trays.

I hope that she has a lovely baby boy, and I am stilll thinking about talking to farmer R and buying a second calf from him for her to raise up as well, she should? produce right around 6 or more gallons of milk a day, so 2 gallons for her calf, 2 gallons for the house per day, and that leaves me with 2 gallons of fresh whole milk, or 2 gallons of skimmed milk to be used for chickens, pigs or ??

I don’t know if I want to pick up that second calf or just reduce the feed costs on the chicken flock by feeding fresh milk to them? Time will give me the answer..

This entry was posted in Critters and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Doing the snoopy dance! – Girl didn’t cycle this month!

  1. Carole says:

    I’m so excited for you Farmgal, who knows maybe she’ll have twins. Is that possible?
    Auntie C

  2. Kelli says:

    Since this is her first calf, I would not add more stress by trying to introduce another calf. Some cows are great moms, some are just ok and some are really bad. You may have to wait and see how well she does as a mom. I have seen the most gentle heifer become the most protective mom and was a handful to deal with while being fed and others could care less if you picked up the calf and took them away from them. I have been around farm animals all of my life and they never fail to amaze me with the things that they do and the way they act with people and with other animals.

    • I am planning on being a touch mean, I am pretty sure that I am taking her calf from her and turning it into a bucket calf, which is part of the reason that I would like a second calf to keep it company. The final choice on this will come after we see how DH can milk.. otherwise, I will be doing the milk share program, calf put away at night, milk in the morning, calf on momma all day..

      But I agree, alot will indeed depend on what she will be like when she has her calf and that is a gamble.. time will tell.

  3. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Won’t say congrats yet for fear of jinxing…
    But what a terrible decision, eh? What to do with extra fresh milk??? First thing that popped into my head (but only if it’s truly extra, of course feed comes first) can you say “CHEESE!”?
    Oh but this is so cool (yippee: ) AND bringing back so many childhood memories: of learning how to milk by hand, using Aunt’s separator (both hand and electric), making butter, but best of all cool, fresh milk to drink – YUM!
    Did I say “Yippee!”? xo

    • I know, I am being a touch early, but still it is exciting, yes, I know what a pleasure to be trying to figure out what to do with all the milk, the ideal of course is fresh yogurt, cheese, butter for the year put up, and that will be done, you can count on it, but at this time, there is just the two of us and even after fresh milk, and making and putting up cottage cheese, yogurt, canning milk and making butter for the year, I am still going to have extra..

      Jessie our family milk cow when I was a child gave right around six gallons a day and that was for a family of five, and we still gave a couple gallons of skim milk each day to the pig/chickens and a liter or so to the farm kittys whole and warm..

    • I am so on the hunt for that non-electic counter size separator! If anyone finds one that is in full working condition and for a reasonable price, I would be more then willing to pay for it and shipping/handling of course..

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        Yeah, about that… Aunt’s machine stood out in the milk house and, if I remember correctly (sorry, but it has been Several Decades), was almost my height at around the age of ten (definitely not a countertop/portable model; )
        Happy hunting!

      • Sounds like my momma’s, its huge, and so heavy! works great but I need something much smaller for my own personal needs.

  4. grammomsblog says:

    I say, trust in nature………

    • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

      Gotta admit that’s also where I’m coming down. Let her be a mother for a while – second calf? Mmm, not as important.

      • While I will admit that having the second calf is not as important, letting her be a mother is kinda not the point, she is to be the family milk cow and they don’t typically get to my momma’s. The norm is that their calfs are removed from them, and while feed momma’s milk, they get it by being a bucket calf, not a momma calf.. I guess that is one of the perks of being a beef calf baby, you get to stay with your momma on the range etc.

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        Of course this would be a completely different scenario if you wound up with a heifer instead, wouldn’t it?; )

      • Well, It would certianly make it alot harder but in the end it would not change to much, I don’t have room on the farm for a second milk cow, so unless or until it time to replace Girl (I hope not for around eight to ten years) a heifer is still going to end up either the freezer calf, having said that if I could I would perfer to place her as a family milk cow but in that regards I didn’t pick a good mix for resale in that way..

        While I am thrilled with the blend that I can choosen, I get very funny looks until I explain it out and then everyone gets it but it would not be a easy first glace idea for someone who is thinking Milking Short Horn or Jersey.

        Our family milk cow jessie was a half dairy and half beef and she was just perfect for us, so I knew that I would be happy with that mix but I have found that others find it quite different.

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

        Or would it make a difference? Either way you still want girl producing extra milk, right? Guess then you’d definitely need to buy a bullock from your neighbour?

      • That’s just it, I do want Girl to produce as much as is natural for her to make, and that is up in the air, until she has her first freshening and we see how it goes, I am going by what Farmer R thinks she will produce, it could be more, it could be less, we have great records on her mom and her mom’s line and good records on the weight and grow outs on her dad’s side, same with the dad but no real idea at all what the offspring will produce as Farmer R raises them and sells them before they get a chance to produce themselves, so I am on a steep learning curve on this one.

        As the law is very clear, I can not sell any extra milk, or give away any extra milk or milk products, I need to figure out ways to use it on the farm, and there are many good ones.. Again only time will give a idea of how much cream she will typically give per gallon etc.. its all a waiting game and only time will give the answers, but I will share when it does!

  5. Kodi says:

    By feeding pigs dairy, you can eliminate grain, especially with your heritage Large Blacks. http://sugarmtnfarm.com/animals/pigs/

Leave a Reply

