March 9th-Stinging Nettle

While I am aware that the average person won’t have stringing nettle frozen in the freezer or jars filled with it dried and crumbed for use all winter long or a place for it growing in their garden, I personally do, and if you have read the recipes on the site, its used all the time, all year long.. Just love the stuff.. Remember that cooking takes out the sting

For fresh eating and or harvesting, young and tender is best, but if you keep cutting the tips off, you can keep the plant giving you fresh tops for months, even if you don’t want to grow them to eat, at least use them in your garden, Nettles make a great general plant food, they have lots of nitrogen and also contain magnesium, iron and sulphur.

To make your liquid plant food, gather up some nettles and into water-tight containers, pack the container tightly, then cover with water until they are covered and leave to ferment for about 2 weeks or so, wait till the frothing died down, strain (putting the solids in the compost pile) and keep the liquid, mix it 1 part stinging nettle to 10 parts water for use on the garden plants, typically every two weeks.

I did a review of nettles on this site already, and about the little green nettle book called 101 uses for stinging nettles.

Breakfast-DH-Waffles, Mixed Fruit Compot FG-Red River porridge with a touch of sheep milk.

Lunch DH-Herb Bread Sandwhich with turkey, mayo, cake peice, and the rest of the grape compot. FG- 2 small bun turkey sandwhichs, with a large cabbage side salad.

Dinner-Homemade flat bread taco’s with homemade salsa, sheep yogurt and a bit of fresh sprouts for green with seasoned ground lamb and onion. Will use the other pd of seasoned lamb and onion to make a pizza for later use.

Drinks-Water, Tea and hot chocolate

Snacks: Herb Bread, Watermelon Cake, 2 Buns, Dill Crackers

Extra-Have strawberries thawing in the fridge that need to be used, have 2 pds of ground lamb that needs to be made into something.

  1. Made 2 quarts of Strawberry/Pinapple Fruit compot
  2. Oatmeal Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies
  3. Chocoalate Cranberry Loaf
  4. Baking Powder Bisquits
  5. Bread Batch, a loaf of bread, a dozen sandwhich buns and one large Pizza dough.
  6. Baked off a Pot Roast, a Chicken and a Leg of lamb

We are under a really bad storm warning and typically in spring when we are to get high winds, heavy wet snow and then freezing rain, we can expect power going, so topping up extra water for the livestock, touching up any laundry that needs to be done, giving the hounds a extra run, hauling extra hay and bedding to the barn, in case I need to shut them up raither then coming out to eat at the hay feeder. Now we wait to see if the weather man is right? or if I am doing the extra work for not.

So do any of your grow or use Stinging nettle? If so, what do you use it for? What is your favorite recipe? Do you use it in the kitchen? the garden? for your livestock? in your herbal medical chest? If you don’t use stinging nettle, what is your “Go To” green herb that you grow an use all the time?

This entry was posted in March Challange. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to March 9th-Stinging Nettle

  1. Heidi Tijssen says:

    Chives! That is the green herb I started with years ago. When I first had a garden, my mom gave me a clump, together with a sweet cicely plant (we call it Roman chervil). Those herbs are the two used for a local dish called melkmoes (a kind of gruel). It’s made of barley cooked in buttermilk, with added to it those big raisins with seed and chives and cicely. Seems a strange combination, but I can tell you that for me as a child it was a real treat on those hot, sticky summerdays, when we ate it cold, straight from the cellar in stead of a warm meal.
    About nettles: I plan to use them this spring (I hope some patches survived the works going on around our yard). I wonder how one can make cloth from nettles. I think its an awful lot of work, but I would like to try once, just for fun (and when you run totally out of money, you will at least be able to supply your home with textiles for nothing…)

    • How nice that your mom gave you plants when you moved to your own place, I grow alot of chives here as well, I really like my garlic Chives. Your dish sound quite interesting and yes I can imagine that on a hot day, that a cold dish would be very welcome.

      As for the nettles, I would think making home cloth would indeed be a great deal of work, I had thought this year that I might make paper with it just to see how it would turn out.. I will post about it if I do indeed do so.

  2. knowwhentoshutup says:

    I love dill. There is something about that smell that brings me back to my childhood. Lately, it has been dilled potato soup that has been quelling the craving to smell that familiar scent in the garden…

    • ah Dill, Love, LOVE dill, Use alot of it year round, thank goodness its so easy to grow in the garden, and it reseeds itself so well.. I am so ready for spring and instead we are being pounded by yet another snowstorm, that can’t decide if its snow, sleet, freezing rain or rain.. ahhh.. there are flood warnings in our local area as well as snow warnings..

      Want to share your recipe for Dilled Potato Soup?

  3. knowwhentoshutup says:

    Here is my recipe – I have been known to add anything I have on hand to it. Just a satisfying soup!

    2 tbsp. butter
    1 lg. onion, chopped
    4 c. raw potatoes, cubed
    1 c. milk
    A lg. carrot, chopped
    A few stalks of celery, chopped
    4 c. chicken broth
    2 tbsp. chopped fresh dill

    Melt butter/margarine in large pan. Add onion, potato, carrot and celery. Cover and cook over very low heat 5-10 minutes. Add broth, salt and pepper to taste. Simmer until vegetables are tender. Remove from heat. (The original recipe calls to puree 1/2 of mixture or blender or food processor, but I prefer a chunky soup, so I don’t). If you do puree, just return puree to reserve mixture in pan and stir in cream and dill. Return to heat if necessary. DO NOT BOIL after the milk is added!

    I don’t measure out much of the ingredients, just add it all to fill my large pot. It has a creamier taste, without the added calories of a true cream based version.

Leave a Reply

